Go south to get to the north: starting from Ritten, this tour follows one of the historically most important north-south routes – the one over the Penser Joch and through the Sarentino valley. After starting at Ritten we warm the tyres up by driving down the winding road to Bolzano. As soon as we reach the bottom of the valley, keep right and cross the town at its northern foothills – always following the signs to Sarentino Valley.

The SS 508 state road leads there and crosses the entire Sarentino Valley, one of the longest side valleys in South Tyrol. From Pens it’s a noticeable uphill climb, from here the fun of curves begins. Once on the Penser Joch, you should take time for the spectacular panoramic view and recharge your batteries for the rest of the way. It leads us down from the Penser Joch – always curvy and breath-taking – to the small Fugger town of Sterzing, which once became rich through silver mining. A stop in the city is worthwhile, especially the Neustadt (which is actually a medieval old town) is a splendour.

In Sterzing we choose the easiest solution for the return journey: the Brenner motorway (A 22) to the south, which we leave in North Bolzano. From there it goes up again to Ritten and after about 175 kilometres leads directly to the front door.

I am raw html block.
Click edit button to change this html

TEL
NAV

Nach Süden fahren, um nach Norden zu gelangen: Vom Ritten ausgehend folgt diese Tour einer der historisch wichtigsten Nord-Süd-Routen – jener über das Penser Joch und durch das Sarntal. Nach dem Start am Ritten fahren wir die Reifen auf der kurvigen Straße hinunter nach Bozen warm. Sobald wir den Talboden erreichen, halten wir uns rechts und durchqueren die Stadt an deren nördlichen Ausläufern – stets den Wegweisern ins Sarntal folgend.

Dorthin führt die Staatsstraße SS 508, die das gesamte Sarntal, eines der längsten Seitentäler Südtirols in seiner ganzen Länge durchquert. Ab Pens geht’s spürbar bergauf, ab hier fängt das Kurvenvergnügen an. Einmal auf dem Penser Joch, sollte man sich Zeit für den spektakulären Rundum-Blick nehmen und Energie für den Rest der Strecke tanken. Die führt uns vom Penser Joch hinunter – stets kurvenreich und atemberaubend – bis ins Fuggerstädtchen Sterzing, das einst durch den Silberabbau reich geworden ist. Ein Stopp in der Stadt lohnt sich, vor allem die Neustadt (die eigentlich eine mittelalterliche Altstadt ist) ist eine Pracht.

In Sterzing wählen wir für die Rückfahrt die einfachste Lösung: die Brennerautobahn (A 22) nach Süden, die wir in Bozen Nord verlassen. Von dort geht’s wieder hinauf auf den Ritten und nach rund 175 Kilometern bis direkt vor die Haustür.

I am raw html block.
Click edit button to change this html

TEL
NAV